Logo Position




Public Works

logo facebook


Greg Nuttelman, Directormunicipalbldng
(413) 529-1410 voice



Monday & Tuesday:  7:30 am – 5:00 pm
Wednesday:   8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday:  8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed Friday


Forms and Documents


Recycle Smart


Board of Public Works

Thomas Malsbury, Chair
David Fagnand
Austin Sanders


To report a street light that needs repair, please call at 413-529-1410 or email Please be sure to include an address.


COVID-19 UPDATE:  At this time, to use the city’s Recycling Center & Brush Dump, you must show proof of residency in Easthampton. 

When offices at 50 Payson Avenue re-open, stickers may be purchased at the Public Works Office for $30 (good from July 1st to June 30th).  $5 for a second sticker at the same address. The fee after Jan. 1st is $15. Replacement stickers are $5.00.

The Recycling Center at the Northampton Street Highway Yard is open the 1st and 3rd Saturdays from 8 a.m. to noon.

The Oliver Street brush dump is open every Saturday in April, May, October and November from 8 a.m. to noon.  It is open the 1st and 3rd Saturdays from 8 a.m. to noon in June, July, August and September.

For more information, CLICK HERE 

The Director of Public Works is responsible for overall management of the Department's Operating Budget and significant portions of the City's Capital Budget. The Director of Public Works reports to a three member Board of Public Works appointed by the Mayor. The Director of Public Works oversees the following departments consisting of 35 employees. Administration, Engineering, Highway, Motor Repair, Water, Sewer, and the Wastewater Treatment Plant.

The DPW Administration Division is responsible for budget management, accounts payable and accounts receivable, payroll administration, workers compensation administration, answering phones and routing inquiries and complaints, and DPW personnel dispatch. The Water and Sewer Enterprise billing and collection for 5,500 accounts is also done by this office.

The DPW Engineering Division is responsible for all plans and records relating to road layouts, water main, and sewer and drain line plans.

The DPW Highway Division is responsible for snow & ice control, roadway and sidewalk patching and repairs, street sweeping, traffic control signs, line painting, brush cutting and guardrail repair for 85 miles of road. This division also staffs the recycling/drop off facility on Northampton St.

The DPW Sewer Division is responsible for maintenance and repair of the City's Sanitary Sewer System which consists of 100 miles of pipe and are also responsible for the Storm Drainage System consisting of different size and types of pipe and thousands of manholes and catch basins.

The DPW Water Division is responsible for the pumping and distribution of potable water as well as maintenance of 100 miles of water main, 800 fire hydrants and 5,500 water meters.

The Wastewater Treatment Plant is responsible for the treatment of sanitary sewerage.

The DPW Fleet Maintenance Division maintains and repairs all of the DPW's motorized fleet, equipment and tools, as well as the motor fleet of the Police Department, School Department, the Council on Aging, Parks and Recreation Department and on request the Fire Department.

The Board of Public Works generally meets the first and third Wednesday of the month at 5:00 pm at 50 Payson Avenue.



Dan Murphy, City Engineer

Carl Williams, Waste Water Plant

Greg Nuttelman, Water Department

James Kicza Jr., Highway Department


Main Phone Number 413-529-1400
Municipal Building 50 Payson Avenue, Easthampton, MA 01027